In association with
Logo Logo Logo

UML General Convention: 333 candidates for 301 posts

CHITWAN:- Election process has started at the 10th National Congress of the CPN-UML here today. The UML’s Congress will select a 301-member central committee with 19 office-bearers.
Central Election Commission Chair Dr Bijay Subba shared that 333 candidates have filed their nominations for the new executive of the party. These include 23 candidates for the post of office-bearers and 310 for central members. There are two candidates for the post of chairman, one for senior vice-chairman, seven for vice-chairman, one for general secretary, three for deputy general secretary and nine for secretary.
Some of the posts have been elected unanimously. According to Subba, Ishwar Pokharel has been elected as the senior vice president, Shankar Pokharel as the general secretary and Prithvi Subba Gurung, Pradip Gyawali and Bishnu Prasad Rimal as the deputy general secretary.
Current Chair KP Sharma Oli and Vice-chair Bhim Rawal are vying for the post of Chairperson while Ashtalakshmi Shakya, Ghanshyam Bhusal, Yuvraj Gyawali, Ram Bahadur Thapa, Bishnu Prasad Poudel, Surendra Prasad Pandey and Subash Chandra Nemwang are contesting for six Vice-chair posts. Likewise, Gokarna Bista, Chabilal Bishwakarma, Tanka Prasad Karki, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Padmakumari Aryal, Bhim Prasad Acharya, Yogesh Bhattarai, Raghuvir Mahaseth and Lekhraj Bhatt will be vying post of seven secretaries.
There are 2,287 representatives attending the congress with voting rights. As per the election schedule, voting will take place from 9:00 pm to 3:00 am.

For Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-ve) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point

For Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-ve) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point

Comment here !
Related News

By Prakash Silwal, KATHMANDU:- The female population is seen further increasing in this census as compared to the previous one.

KATHMANDU:- The coalition parties in the incumbent government have won 18 seats in the National Assembly (NA) election organised for

KATHMANDU:- Voting for 19 vacant posts of National Assembly member is taking place from 9.00 am today. Voting will be

KATHMANDU:- The Election Commission has urged the government to immediately set the date for upcoming local level election. Reasoning that