In association with
Logo Logo Logo

State 2 preparing to finalise name and permanent capital through voting

JANKAPURDHAM: Preparations have been made to finalise the permanent capital and the name of State 2 through voting in the State Assembly after it could not forge consensus on this matter.
The State Assembly Secretariat stated that the name and the permanent capital of the State would be decided through voting on March 6. The State Assembly would be informed about the process of finalizing the name and the permanent capital a day before the voting takes place.
State Assembly’s speaker Saroj Kumar Yadav said the meeting of the State Assembly has been called for March 5 after being stalled for nearly three months. He said the Assembly would be informed about the voting process for determining the name and permanent capital on that day.
Speaker Yadav said the voting process would be started at 8 am on March 6. He said four proposals have been registered for naming the State while three proposals have been registered for determining the permanent capital. According to him, discussions would be held on all the proposals and these would be put to a vote for endorsement of any two by a two-third majority votes.
Although all the parties are agreed on the permanent capital of State 2, there is no consensus regarding the name of the State. A special committee had been formed under the coordination of Speaker Yadav after the parliamentary parties disputed in the name of the State.
The ruling Samajwadi Party and the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal are for naming the State as ‘Madhesh Pradesh’ and as such have registered a proposal on this whereas the main opposition party, Nepal Communist Party (NCP), has proposed ‘Janaki Pradesh’ while the Nepali Congress has proposed the name ‘Mithila-Bhojpura Pradesh’.
The ruling party, Samajwadi Party, has 30 members, the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal has 25 members, the main opposition, NCP, has 32 members, the Nepali Congress has 19 members and the Sanghiya Samajwadi Forum led by Rizwan Ansari has one member in the State Assembly.

Comment here !
Related News

N24 Correspondent, KATHMANDU:- Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli took the oath of office and secrecy on Friday. KP Sharma Oli

N24 Correspondent, KATHMANDU:- CPN-UML Chairperson KP Sharma Oli has been appointed Prime Minister for the third time. President Bidya Devi

KATHMANDU:- The CPM (UML) Chair and Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal met at a

KATHMANDU:- The Standing Committee meeting of the CPN (UML) has revoked the suspension of four leaders including Madhav Kumar Nepal.