In association with
Logo Logo Logo

Rastriya Prajatantra Party General Convention: Thapa and Lingden vying for the chairmanship

N24 Correspondent, KATHMANDU:- The election process for the new leadership of the Rastriya Prajatantra Party is starting today. Chairman Kamal Thapa, Pashupati Shamsher Rana, and Prakash Chandra Lohani inaugurated the Ekta General Convention at Bhrikuti Mandap on Wednesday.

After the inaugural session, the closed session of the General Convention has started at Bhrikuti Mandap and the election process will start today, said RPP leader Rajaram Bartaula.

The political report of the chairperson and the draft amendment proposal was tabled in the closed session yesterday. A schedule has been set to pass both the resolutions from the closed session which will resume from 8 am today.

Though the possibility of unanimous leadership selection from the Rashtriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) general convention is almost out of the question, the leaders have said that they will try to reach a consensus.

From the platform, senior leaders have put pressure on Kamal Thapa and Rajendra Lingden, who has been nominated for the post, to select the leadership unanimously.

There was applause in the hall when the leaders urged both of them to select the leadership unanimously.

Chairman of the Ekta General Convention, Pashupati Shamser Rana, said that both parties should be ready for unanimous leadership.

However, he acknowledged that their numbers were not enough to defeat President Conte’s government. This means that leaders do not have the strategy to intervene for consensus.

Apart from Rana, the group’s leaders, including Sagun Sundar Lawati, have sided with Lingden. Another president, Dr. Prakash Chandra Lohani has sided with Lingden.

Thapa is not in favor of leaving Linden as the influence is good, while Linden is creating an atmosphere in his favor as support is increasing. “Both of them should be ready to accept the outcome of the election,” Rana said.

However, Rana said that the result of the election should not lead to the split of the party. Build as much consensus leadership as you can. ‘

He said that he would be involved in the activities of the party as much as possible even if he was not the chairman of RPP.

Minister and former Chairman Lokendra Bahadur Chand also said that leadership should be formed to prevent the party from splitting. He said that youth wing is gradually being established in the leadership. “It simply came to our notice then.

Announcing his candidacy, Thapa said that he was ready for the responsibility as he had to complete some unfinished work. However, he recalled that he had taken an oath not to split the party.

In the RPP, which has been splitting time and again, the delegates applauded and huddled as the leaders spoke out against the split.

The closed session has started after the inaugural session of RPP. The program will end on Wednesday after the three chairpersons present their working papers in a closed session.

Though the candidature of RPP chairperson has been announced, it has not been decided yet. Leaders of both parties have stated that they will try to reach a consensus on the issue at the last minute.

However, Linden’s leadership is not in favor of leaving. In his remarks, he said that he had led the youth as the RPP could not be moved forward from the old leadership.

The election committee has already made the schedule public. Accordingly, the time for registration of candidature has been fixed from 9-12 am on Thursday.

The first list of candidates will be published at 2 pm. The time for protesting and returning the candidature has been fixed from 2-4 pm. Thursday’s program will conclude after the final list of candidates is published at 5 p.m.

Voting is scheduled for Friday from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. It is said that the counting of votes will start after that. In RPP, elections will be held for the post of chairperson, three vice-chairpersons, and three general secretaries.

Both are preparing to form a group for the three vice presidents and the general secretary. The names of the leaders for the posts are being discussed by both Thapa and Lingden.

It is said that the election committee is trying to publish the final list of voters. The names of Buddhiman Tamang, Dhruba Bahadur Pradhan, Jayant Chandal, and others are being discussed.

Although there is an arrangement to have three vice presidents including one woman, no one has claimed from the woman. From Lingden’s side, Jagat Gauchan, Durga Shrestha, and Shyam Timalsina are in the discussion of vice-presidents.

However, RPP’s voter list has not been finalized even though the election schedule has been made public. The voter list was scheduled to be published on Wednesday morning.

There is talk of Bhaskar Bhadra, Kunti Shahi, and Bhuvan Pathak from Thapa’s side for the post of General Secretary. RPP has three general secretaries including one woman. Govinda Khaniya, Dhawal Shamsher Rana, and Rekha Thapa are aspiring for the post of General Secretary.

Out of the 99-member central working committee of RPP, 149 members are being elected and the rest are nominated by the elected chairperson. There is an arrangement for 7 joint general ministers, treasurer, co-treasurer, spokesperson and joint spokesperson to be nominated by the elected chairperson.

For Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-ve) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point

For Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-ve) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point

Comment here !
Related News

KATHMANDU:- The five-party alliance of the Gandaki Province has asked the newly-elected National Assembly (NA) members from the province to

KATHMANDU:- The central working committee of the Nepali Congress which is meeting in a short while today is expected to

KATHMANDU:- The country has recorded 6,827 cases of coronavirus and 10 infection related deaths in the past 24 hours. The

KATHMANDU:- Nepali Congress (NC) has formed a 37-memebr central work performance committee. The central working committee meeting of the party