• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

NRNA 9th Global Conference to elect new leadership today, Kumar Panta leads Exit-poll result

KATHMANDU: The 9th Global Conference of the Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) will elect new leadership of the association today for a term of two years 2019-2021.

A total of 2600 delegates from different countries have gathered here to elect the new executive for the next term. Three candidates are vying to lead the NRNA, namely, incumbent president Kumar Panta (Germany) and Kul Acharya (UK). Panta is the Senior vice president of the incumbent executive committee and Acharya is the vice president.

For the five posts of vice president, ten contenders have filed their candidacy. According to the election committee of NRNA, Sonam Lama (USA), Keshab Paudel (USA), Mana KC (Australia), Hikmat Thapa (Africa), Narendra Bahadur Bhat (Qatar), Badri KC (Russia), Rabina Thapa (USA), Sapila Rajbhandari (Russia), Dharmaraj Adhikari (Austrlia) and Arjun Kumar Shrestha (Belgium) are in the race.

Two candidates are contesting for the post of general secretary, namely Dr. Hemraj Sharma (UK), Januka Gurung (Belgium). Likewise, Gauri Raj Joshi (USA), Rajendra Sharma (Qatar), Shiva K Baruwal (Belgium) are contesting for the post of secretary.

Two candidates have registered their nominations for the post of treasurer Som Sapkota (Denmark), Mahesh Shrestha (Japan).

The general assembly will also elect regional coordinator and co-coordinator for six regions Asia-Pacific, Europe, America, Oceania, Africa and Middle-East.

Likewise, the 42-member executive committee of NRNA has also elected women and youth coordinator and co-coordinator.

The NRN movement was initiated from 2003 and has established networks in 81 different countries. Around 100,000 Nepalis are associated with NRNA. It is reported that five million Nepalis are living in 110 countries. NRNA does not include those Nepalis living in SAARC countries.

According to US based Attorney, Khagendra GC, NRNA Presidential candidate Kumar Panta is leading with a large margin in the Exit-poll results.

Published Date: Tuesday, October 15th, 2019 | 10:06 PM

Your Responses