In association with
Logo Logo Logo

NC General Convention: candidacy nomination over

(Nepali Congress President and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba registering his candidature for the post of president on Saturday in the election to be held for the new working committee under the 14th general convention of the Nepali Congress. Kathmandu, December 11, 2021. Photo: Roshan Sapkota, RSS)

KATHMANDU:- As many as 39 candidates have registered their nominations for office-bearers in the 14th general convention of Nepali Congress. Six out of them have filed their candidacies for the post of President.
According to the Central Election Committee, a total of 39 candidates have filed their nominations in different posts of office-bearer on Saturday. The committee had set 10.00 am to 5.00 pm as for filing nomination.
As informed Sher Bahadur Deuba, Prakashman Singh, Bimalendra Nidhi, Dr Shekhar Koirala, Kalyan Gurung and Yubaraj Neupane have filed their nomination for President.
Likewise, Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar, Mahesh Acharya, Sujata Koirala, Dr Chandra Bhandari, Dhanraj Gurung, Divyaswori Shah and Purna Bahadur Khadka have registered their candidacies for vice-chairperson.
Similarly, Dr Minendra Rijal, Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat, Biswo Prakash Sharma, Gagan Kumar Thapa, Pradeep Poudel and Dr Rajaran Karki registered their nominations for general secretary.
To the post of assistant general secretary, Man Bahadur Biswokarma, Badri Prasad Pandey, Farmullah Mansur, Surendra Chaudhary, Sheikh Wakil, Devraj Chalise, Kishor Singh Rathor, Ranjeet Karna, Jeewan Pariyar, Ramkrishna Yadav, Jeewan Bahadur Shahi, Bikas Lama, Kamala Pant, Tejulal Chaudhary, Bhisma Raj Angdambe, Chetana Raj Bajal, Umakanta Chaudhary, Ganga Sunar, Mahendra Yadav and Dina Upadhyay filed their nomination, the committee informed.
Likewise, to the post of central member, two candidates have filed their nomination on backward cluster, 17 on disability quota, six on minority quota, 16 on Muslim quota, 14 on Tharu community quota, 32 on Muslim cluster, 39 on Dalit cluster, 31 on women quota, 83 on Khas Arya quota, 87 on indigenous nationalities quota, 110 on open cluster.
As per the province wise distribution of the nominees, 13 candidates from province 1 filed their candidacies while the number is five from province 2, 11 from Lumbini province, six from gandaki, six from Karnali, 12 from Sudurpaschim and nine from Bagmati province.
The tasks related to electoral process are being carried out at Bhrikutimandap and National Assembly.
The 14th general convention will elect a President, two Vice-President, two general secretaries and eight assistant general secretaries. As per the statutory provision, treasurer will be picked from among the central members. The general convention will elect a total of 134 central office bearers and members.

For Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-ve) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point

For Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-ve) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point

Comment here !
Related News

KATHMANDU:- The ruling coalition parties have agreed to hold local level elections within the deadline determined by the constitution and

CHITWAN:- Vice President of the Nepali Congress, Dhanraj Gurung, has said that local-level election would be held within coming mid-May.

JANAKPUR:- Chief Minister of the Madhes Province, Lal Babu Raut has said a big dream of the Madhesi people has

KATHMANDU:- The District Administration Offices (DAO) of Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur have banned all the social gatherings and events such