In association with
Logo Logo Logo

Nagarik Daily’s Rauniyar wins Nepal’s National Education Journalism Award

KATHMANDU: The National Education Journalism Award-2075 BS has been presented to Ruby Rauniyar.
Minister for Education, Science and Technology, Girirajmani Pokhrel conferred the award on the journalist with the Nagarik National Daily amidst a programme jointly organised by the Federation of Nepali Journalists (FNJ) and the Education and Human Resources Development Center. The award carries a purse of Rs 51,000.
On the occasion, the Minister insisted that practical and theoretical knowledge about journalism should be taken to the grass root level.
Stating that letter grading system was adopted in a bid to transform the education system, he underlined the need of finding an alternative to the existing examinations system. “Rote learning has been promoted. Prevailing three-hour examinations system should be replaced with the learning-centered system.”
He took time to share about the government plan of coming up with a new education policy soon and introducing separate bills relating to the school and technical education and higher education within a month.
Describing the education as a field of producing human resources required for the nation, he said quality education was the priority of government.
On the occasion, the State Education Journalism Award-2075 BS carrying a purse of Rs 20,000 was presented to eight people (one each from seven states and one from the Kathmandu Valley, considering it as a state).
Those awarded are Sujan Timsina (Ilam) from State 1; Santosh Singh (Janakpur) from State 2, Sarita Shrestha (Dhading) from State 3, Kamal Khatri (Myagdi) from Gandaki State, Prem Narayan Acharya (Arghakhanchi) from State 5, Govinda KC (Dailekh) from Karnali State; Mohan Bista (Kanchanpur) from Far-West State and Laxmi Poudel (Kathmandu) from Kathmandu Valley.
Similarly, the State Education Journalism Award carrying a purse of Rs 15,000 which is given to two people each from the seven states and the Kathmandu Valley was presented on the occasion.
Rohit Rai (Sunsari) and Sushila Pathak (Morang) from State 1, Brijalal Prasad Paswan (Parsa) and Sunil Thakur (Sarlahi) from State 2, Sharad Adhikari (Kathmandu) and Sabita Shrestha (Chitwan) from State 3, Roshan Tiwari (Parbat) and Shanta Kamali (Lumjung) from Gandaki State, Bikas Banjade (Kapilvastu) and Bhagawati Pandey (Rupandehi) from State 5, Bishnu Prasad Neupane (Kalikot) and Hari Gautam (Rukum) from Karnali State and Shailendra Rokaya (Bajhang) and Bhumiraj Joshi (Bajhang) from Far-West State and Rajan Ruchal (Lalitpur) and Prashant Oli (Kathmandu) were awarded.
Similarly, Education Journalism Award towards institutional FM category was presented to Tamor FM (Taplejung) from State 1, Radio Appan Mithila (Mahottari) from State 2, Radio Sandesh (Makawanpur) from State 3, Happy FM (Nawalpur) of Gandaki State, Radio Madanpokhara (Palpa) from State 5, Radio Sharada (Salyan) from Karnali State, Radio Janapriya (Achham) from Far-West State and Capital FM (Kathmandu) from Kathmandu Valley. The award carries a purse of Rs 20,000.
Sikshyala Monthly (Lalitpur) from print media, Setopati.Com from online, Janata Television from television received the Education Journalism Award-2075. The award carries a purse of Rs 25,000.
The FNJ has been providing the awards every year.
On the occasion, ‘Gender Equality Journalism Award’ was presented to Sujit Kumar Jha of Janakpur (Avenues TV), Tilsara BK of Humla (Karnali FM) and Bhawani Bhatta of Mahendranagar (Kantipur Daily). The award being provided at collaboration of FNJ and Motherland Nepal carries a purse of Rs 40,000.

Comment here !
Related News

KATHMANDU:- The offices apart from the most essential ones will remain closed in the Kathmandu Valley from tomorrow (Thursday). According

BAGLUNG: Two persons were killed and one other was injured when a Dhorpatan-bound taxi (Dha 1 Ja 528) met with

BAGLUNG:- Two more Covid-19 deaths have been reported in Baglung district taking the death toll from the infection to 17.

SAPTARI: A couple died in a road accident in Saptari district this morning. The deceased have been identified as Satya