In association with
Logo Logo Logo

KP Oli reelected UML Chair, formal announcement awaited

CHITWAN:- KP Sharma Oli has been reelected the CPN (UML) Chairperson. The 10th National Congress of the party held in Chitwan elected Oli again for the next term. However, the formal announcement of the poll results is awaited.
Of total 2,096 votes cast during the election, Oli had obtained 1,840 votes to win the election against his sole rival Dr Bhim Rawal with a huge margin, according to the party’s central election commission. There were 2,153 representatives for the party’s mega event kicked off on November 26.
In the electric voting held last night, Oli and Rawal were the contenders for the post of party new chair and latter finished the race with 223 votes. It is learnt that some representatives had voted for the two.
During the ninth National Congress of the party, Oli had won the election against Madhav Kumar Nepal who now heads the CPN (Unified Socialist) following the split from the party by a slight margin.
Similarly, Ishwor Pokharel has been elected to senior vice-chairperson and Shankar Pokhrel the general-secretary. The other office-bearers were elected without any opposition.
Pradeep Kumar Gyawali, Prithivi Subba Gurung and Bishnu Rimal have been elected to deputy general-secretary post unopposed.
On the first day of the close camp on November 27, chairperson of the presidium Oli was granted authority to present the name list of 301-member central committee office-bearers and members.
Chairperson Oli, after holding consolations with various leaders, had presented the name list of the following day. Dr Rawal, leader Ghanashyam Bhusal among other leaders disapproved the name list presented by Oli leading to the election.
Bhusal, who had filed his candidacy for the vice-chair post although his name was presented in the hall for vice-chair name list, is behind other contenders.
The new central committee members will take oath and convene its maiden meeting today in Sauraha today itself.

For Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-ve) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point

For Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-ve) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point

Comment here !
Related News

KATHMANDU:- The coalition parties in the incumbent government have won 18 seats in the National Assembly (NA) election organised for

KATHMANDU:- Voting for 19 vacant posts of National Assembly member is taking place from 9.00 am today. Voting will be

KATHMANDU:- The Election Commission has urged the government to immediately set the date for upcoming local level election. Reasoning that

KATHMANDU:- A total of 12,008 new cases of COVID-19 were reported in the country in the last 24 hours. This