In association with
Logo Logo Logo

ICC T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier Cricket match – Kuwait defeats Qatar

KATHMANDU: Kuwait beat Qatar by 10 runs in a match played under the ICC T-20 World Cup Asia Region Qualifier today. The match was held at the Indian Association Cricket Ground in Singapore.
Kuwait, sent to bat first after losing the toss, made a total 197 runs in the stipulated 20 overs by losing seven wickets. Adanan Aedis of Kuwait played a superb innings of 56 runs while Mit Bhawasar made 35 runs, Usman Waheed 28 runs.
Towards bowling, Qatar’s players Tamor Sajjad and Iqbal Hussein took two wickets each.
Qatar, which was chasing a victory target of 198 runs, was limited to 187 runs in 20 overs losing five wickets. Tamor Sajjad contributed the highest 46 runs for Qatar while Noman Shanwar made 34 runs, Inam-ul Haq 28 runs and Faisal Haved 25 runs. Shiraj Khan and Janadu Hamoud took two wickets each for Kuwait.
With this defeat, Qatar has earned two points from three games. It won one game while losing two. It is almost on the verge of exiting the competition as it is in the last place in the score table.
The chances of Nepal’s entering the next leg of the competition are still alive. Nepal, which played two matches before this, are in the fourth place in the points table. Nepal were defeated by Qatar in the first match while it had defeated Malaysia in the second match.
Hosts Singapore top the points chart with three points while Kuwait which also has three points is in the second position on the basis of net run rate. Malaysia, which has two points, is in the third place in the points table on the basis of net run rate. Nepal will take on Kuwait tomorrow in its third match of the championship.
One qualification spot for the 2019 ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier is up for grabs for the side that finishes top of the standings following the round-robin competition
The winning nation will become one of 14 teams to play in the 2019 ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier in the United Arab Emirates in October and November 2019, with the chance to qualify for the ICC T20 Men’s World Cup in Australia
One qualification spot for the 2019 ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier will be on the line when Singapore, Kuwait, Malaysia, Nepal and Qatar play in Singapore between 22-28 July. The round-robin format will see all five teams play each other once, with the side that finishes at the summit becoming one of the 14 teams to play in the United Arab Emirates in October and November for the chance to make next year’s ICC T20 Men’s World Cup.

Comment here !
Related News

KATHMANDU: Nepal lost to the Netherlands by 3 wickets in the match held today under the Tri-nation T20 cricket series.

KATHMANDU: Entry of spectators in the Three-Nations T20 Cricket Series has been prohibited. According to Nepal Cricket Association (CAN), spectator

PARIS (AP) — Roger Federer announced Sunday he will play at the French Open, and the Swiss star is preparing

KATHMANDU: The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced a 14-member cricket team led by Captain Gyanendra Malla for the