In association with
Logo Logo Logo

IBN approves investment of Rs 73 billion for two hydropower projects

KATHMANDU:- The Investment Board Nepal (IBN) has approved investments worth approximately Rs 73 billion for the construction and development of two hydropower projects. The 48th meeting of the IBN presided over by its chairperson and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba today took the decision to this effect. As per the investment approval, the 56-megawatt Jumkhola hydropower project based in Dolakha district will attract investment of around Rs 10.5 billion while the 900-megawatt Arun III hydropower project based in Sankhuwasabha district will receive investment of Rs 62.26 billion.
Likewise, the meeting has decided to form a high level study committee under the coordination of IBN vice chairperson for the committee to submit a report relating to the 900-megawatt Upper Karnali hydropower project to the IBN within 45 days.
The committee comprises representatives from the Ministries of Finance, Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation and Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, the IBN chief executive officer and an expert. IBN joint secretary is the member secretary of the committee as informed.
Similarly, it was decided to approve annual budget and programmes of the IBN for the fiscal year, 2021/22 and approve the share purchase and sale agreement of Samrat Cement and the Upper Trishuli-1 hydropower project.
On the occasion, PM Deuba directed all concerned sectors to make a long-term plan relating to electricity consumption increment and create environment conducive for investment.
IBN chief executive officer Sushil Bhatta apprised the event of progress of projects launched by the IBN and its progress and activities.
Present on the occasion were Finance Minister and IBN Vice Chairperson Janardan Sharma, Minister for Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation Pampha Bhusal, Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies Gajendra Bahadur Hamal, Minister for Forest and Environment Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav, National Planning Commission Vice Chairperson Dr Bishwonath Poudel, Chief Secretary Shankar Das Bairagi, IBN members Hari Bhakta Sharma, Bhawani Rana and Rajesh Kaji Shrestha and high ranking government officials.

For Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-ve) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point

For Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-ve) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point

Comment here !
Related News

KATHMANDU:- The foreign trade of the country has increased by 68.13 per cent in the first three months of the

KATHMANDU:- Nepali workers are finally going to South Korea, after a hiatus of twenty months. As many as 48 workers

DHANUSHA:- The Province 2 government has recommended two ordinances relating to the establishment of universities. A meeting of the Province

KATHMANDU:- The government has till the second month of the current fiscal year provided loan worth one billion rupees for