In association with
Logo Logo Logo

Chair of all four NA committees re-elected unopposed

Photo Courtesy: hamropatro

KATHMANDU: Chairpersons of all four thematic committees under the National Assembly have been elected unopposed.

Parshuram Meghi Gurung has been elected the chairman of Legislation Committee, Ram Narayan Bidari for the Delegated Management and Government Assurance Committee while Taradevi Bhatta and Dil Kumari Rawal are elected to serve as the chairperson of Sustainable Development and Good Governance Committee and National Concern and Coordination Committee, respectively. The proposals and candidacies for the posts were unanimously endorsed by the respective committees; The candidacy of Gurung was proposed by Devendra Dahal and Taraman Swar backed it. Radheshyam Adhikari proposed the candidacy of Bidari and it was supported by Sher Bahadur Kunwar. Dinanath Sharma proposed the candidacy of Bhatta and Ramesh Jung Rayamajhi backed it while the candidacy of Rawal was proposed by Khimlal Bhattarai and backed by Anita Devkota.

All the four had also earlier served as the Chair of respective committees. The elections of presidents of four NA’s thematic committees takes place in every two-year. Of the elected chairpersons two are from the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) and one represents the main opposition Nepali Congress. Bidari was nominated to the NA by the President on the recommendation of the government.

The 59-member NA remains as the permanent House. The elections of one-third member (18) were held in last Magh. Of the elected presidents: two are females and two are males. They are scheduled to take the oath of office and secrecy before NA Chair Ganesh Prasad Timilsina on Sunday and to assume offices.

Comment here !
Related News

KATHMANDU:- The calendar of upcoming 14th general convention of ruling Nepali Congress (NC) has been put off due to delay

KATHMANDU:- Nepali Congress (NC) senior leader Ramchandra Poudel has expressed for the need to hold the upcoming 14th national convention

CHITWAN:- CPN (UML) senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal has asserted that it was upto the leadership whether to make or

KATHMANDU:- The Election Commission of Nepal has asked all the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP)’s executive members to attend the Commission’s