In association with
Logo Logo Logo

Cabinet decisions: Nepal Government to receive Rs 12 billion IDA grant

(Minister for Finance and Communications and Information Technology Dr. Yuvaraj Khatiwada unveiling the decision of the Council of Ministers at the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology on Friday. Photo: Kathmandu, 5 June, 2020. Picture: Chandrakala Chhetri)

KATHMANDU:- The meeting of Council of Ministers convened on June 16 made decisions of a slew of matters including appointments, approval for receiving foreign grant assistance and the price of paddy among others.
Unveiling the decisions on Friday, Minister for Communications, Information and Technology and Spokesperson of the government Dr Yubaraj Khatiwada shared that the government decided to accept the proposed USD 10 million (around Rs 12 billion) grant pledged the World Bank’s International Development Association as a budgetary assistance.
The fund would be used to increase investment in the energy sector.
Furthermore, Minister Khatiwada shared, “The meeting also decided to accept Swiss government’s 176 million Swiss Franc (above Rs 2 billion) grant assistance for the second phase of Small Irrigation Programme.”
The government has fixed the price of paddy according to which mota dhan (thick- sized paddy) would be sold at Rs 2,735 per quintal for the new fiscal year 2020/21. Price for the medium-sized paddy has been set at Rs 2,885 per quintal.
The meeting also decided to issue approval in principle for changes in the existing contracts for the expansion and black-topping of Imadol-Siddipur, Godawari Khola-Lubbhu-Lamatar road.
The Cabinet has decided to provide 50 percent compensations to the land users of ‘Bayu Guthi’ in course of acquisition of lands along the Kalanki-Thankot-Nagdhunga Tunnel Way construction project.
Also, compensation would be provided to those land users who do not have land ownership certificate but have record in the field book at the Office of Department of Survey and the Department of Land Revenue.
As for the decisions on nomination and appointments, the meeting decided to nominate Khagendra Prasad Adhikari as the Vice-Chair of CTEVT.
Likewise, Phupu Chhembe of Phuling Municiplaity-9 in Taplejung was appointed chairperson and Hom Bahdur Dong of Dupcheshwar Municiplaity-5 of Nuwakot as the executive director of as the Monastery Development Committee. Dr Rajan Khanal has been appointed as the executive Director of Nepal Administrative Staff College.
The meeting has also decided to approve the Local Infrastructure Development Partnership Programme Operation Procedure (3rd amendment regulations)-2077 BS, Nepal’s Satellite Policy-2077 BS and Medal (1st amendment) Regulations- 2077 BS.
Similarly, it was decided in the meeting to grant permission to table the bills drafted to manage security printing and to integrate and amend the public service broadcasting at the federal parliament.
The Cabinet has decided to transfer ownership right of the land to the National Archeology Department building as the land of the building belongs to Supreme Court. The right was transferred until the new building is constructed by the National Archeology Department aimed at protecting historical and cultural assets.

Comment here !
Related News

KATHMANDU:- The World Bank’s Board of Executive Directors today approved $60 million to improve the quality of Nepal’s higher education,

KATHMANDU:- The World Bank has approved 60 million US dollars (approximately Rs 7.2 billion) to improve the quality of higher

KATHMANDU:- A consignment of 32 thousand 500 metric tonnes of Urea fertilizer procured from Bangladesh has arrived here. The fertilizer

KATHMANDU:- Germany has handed over health equipment including ventilators to the Government of Nepal. German Ambassador to Nepal Roland Schaefer