In association with
Logo Logo Logo

Ang Dendi Sherpa wins Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal

(From left) Eui Jae Lee, Ang Dendi Sherpa, Col Avaneesh Chambial, Sadbhav Acharya and Wangchen Dhondup after the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal in Kathmandu on Saturday. Photo Courtesy: Gokarna Golf Club

KATHMANDU: Ang Dendi Sherpa won the fourth edition of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here at Gokarna Golf Club on Saturday. Playing with 10 handicap, he scored seven-under 65 nett to clinched the trophy.

Korean golfer Eui Jae Lee finished second with six-under nett 66. Colonel Avaneesh Chambial carded four-under 68 nett to finish second runner-up.

Wangchen Dhondup won the best gross award with one-under 71 gross. And Sadbhav Acharya was Junior winner with three-over 75 nett.

Total of 42 golfers took part in the tournament sponsored by Surya Nepal Pvt.

Ltd. President of Gokarna Golf Club, Suhrid Ghimire gave away the prizes to the winners of the tournament. The tournament was played under stroke play format with full handicap.

10 medal rounds will be played till the month of December 2019 for the club championship. In each medal round Top 10 players in nett category, top 5 players in gross category, and top 5 in the junior category are awarded points. First place in nett category from each event earn 100 points, Runner up got receive 60 points, 40 points for third place, 35 points for fourth place, 30 points for fifth place sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth and tenth position receive 25,20,15,10 & 5 points respectively.

In the Gross & Junior category top five scorer’s from each event earn points , 100, 60, 40, 35, & 30 respectively.

Top 40 players of nett category, top 10 of gross category and top five of junior category will qualify for their category of club championships. The final of club championship will be played over 2 rounds in January and February 2020.

After the fourth edition on the club championship Col Avaneesh Chambial is on top of the leader-board in the nett category with 120 points. Joseph Nathan is second at 115 points. Babu Sherpa is third with 105 points. Ang Dendi Sherpa, Rabendra Raj Pandey and Vijay Shrestha Einhaus are tied fourth with 100 points. Wangchen Dhondup is seventh with 75 points. Pradhumna Simkhada is eighth with 70. Dawa Sonam Sherpa and Eue Jae Lee are tied ninth with 60 points.

On the gross category Wangchen Dhondup is leading with 295 points ahead of his brother Tashi Tsering, who has 240 points.

Vijay Shrestha Einhaus is third with 160 points. Tashi Dong is fourth with 65 points and Babu Sherpa is fifth with 60 points.

On the junior category Sadbhav Acharya is leading with 300 points, Mayanka Dahal is second with 160 points. Ang Phurba is third with 140 points, Shaswat Pradhan is fourth with 120 points and Shreeyog Basnyat is fifth with 40 points.

Comment here !
Related News

By STEFANIE DAZIO, LOS ANGELES (AP) — Tiger Woods was speeding when he crashed an SUV in Southern California less

By TIM REYNOLDS, AUGUSTA, Ga. (AP) — It was April 7, 2003. Exactly 18 years ago Wednesday, Syracuse defeated Kansas

SEOUL, (AFP):- North Korea will not attend this year’s Tokyo Olympics because of the coronavirus pandemic, Pyongyang’s sports ministry said,

KATHMANDU:- Nepal’s popular boxer Abiral Ghimire is participating in the ‘International Professional Kickboxing Hit-48’ scheduled to take place on 25